> ## Knowledge Base Index
> Fetch the complete knowledge base index at: https://upsidestaging.crisp.help/sitemap.xml
> Use this file to discover available pages before exploring further.
> Pure-Markdown content can be obtained by appending a '.md' suffix to the content URLs listed in the sitemap (without the trailing slash).

# What happens to my data when I close my account?

The following outlines what happens when you close your account?  
  
When you close or cancel your Upside account, we will proceed in the following order:  
  
*   return all Upsides (your savings) to your linked bank account;
  
*   cancel any Direct Debit mandates you have set up to enable Autosaves or any other services on our platform;
  
*   lastly, unlink and disconnect all your bank account(s) authorisations and stop collecting your OpenBanking data
  
  
This means we will no longer:  
*   refresh and collect data, namely your bank account, bank account number, sort code, balances, and transaction data;
  
*   be able to assist you in saving money
  
  

``` Please Note: When you delete, cancel or close your Upside account, we:```

  
- have a legal requirement to retain financial data for a period of six years;  
- do not delete historical information we hold relating to the service(s) provided to you in accordance with the above legislation. This includes;  
- information such as your Upside transactions (deposits, withdrawals), and;  
- identifiers such as your email address, address details etc  
  
We will remain in communication with you, unless you have explicitly withdrawn your consent to be contacted.  
  
Is this really goodbye?  
*   If there is anything you would like to discuss or we can improve we would love to hear from you.
  
*   You can reach us by writing to talktous@upsidesaving.com or Talk to us via LiveChat